Austrian Physical Society
News and Announcements
Search on the OePG website:
  Set Page Contrast  


Lise Meitner Lectures - Ultrakurze Lichtpulse

© One for the Wall, Inc. 2018


With the invention of lasers, the intensity of a light wave was increased by orders of magnitude over what had been achieved with a light bulb or sun light. This much higher intensity led to new phenomena being observed, such as violet light coming out when red light went into the material. After Gérard Mourou and I developed chirped pulse amplification, also known as CPA, the intensity again increased by more than a factor of 1,000 and it once again made new types of interactions possible between light and matter. We developed a laser that could deliver short pulses of light that knocked the electrons off their atoms. This new understanding of laser-matter interactions, led to the development of new machining techniques that are used in laser eye surgery or micromachining of glass used in cell phones.


Donna Strickland is a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Waterloo and is one of the recipients of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for developing chirped pulse amplification with Gérard Mourou, her PhD supervisor at the time. They published this Nobel-winning research in 1985 when Strickland was a PhD student at the University of Rochester. In 1997, she joined the University of Waterloo, where her ultrafast laser group develops high-intensity laser systems for nonlinear optics investigations. She was named a 2021 Hagler Fellow of Texas A&M University and sits on the Growth Technology Advisory Board of Applied Materials.
Strickland served as the president of the Optica (formerly OSA) in 2013 and is a fellow of Optica, SPIE, the Royal Society of Canada and the Royal Society. She also is an international member of the US National Academy of Science.

Please register for this event at:

Einladung zur Lise Meitner Lecture

Display only this item

Berta Karlik Lecture

Im Rahmen der Berta Karlik Lecture werden vier weibliche Mitglieder der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften über ihre Forschung berichten. Außerdem wird Walter Kutschera Berta Karliks Werk am Institut für Radiumforschung, dem heutigen Stefan-Meyer-Institut für subatomare Physik würdigen.

Die Veranstaltung findet am 8. März 2023 ab 17:30 im Festsaal der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften statt. Eine Anmeldung ist noch bis 3. März 2023 unter möglich.

Die Vorträge können auch per Livestream verfolgt werden:

Weitere Informationen, sowie das vollständige Programm, sind der Einladung der ÖAW zu entnehmen:

Display only this item

Erwin Schrödinger Lecture - "Random Walk to Graphene"

The next Erwin Schrödinger Lecture, entitled "Random Walk to Graphene" will be given by Prof. Andre Geim. He received the 2010 Nobel Prize for Physics for his groundbreaking experiments on graphene. The event will take place on March 9th, 2023 at 6 pm in the Festive Hall of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Dr. Ignaz Seipel-Platz 2, 1010 Vienna).

Registration is possible at:

Display only this item

Joint Annual Meeting of the Austrian and Swiss Physical Societies

This year's annual meeting will be held together with the Swiss Physical Society from Sept. 4th - 8th, 2023 in Basel, CH. Abstracts can be submitted until May 1st, 2023.

Detailed information is available at the web page of the SPS:


Announcement of the Annual Meeting 2023

Display only this item
to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2023