Austrian Physical Society
Physics in Austria
Search on the OePG website:
  Set Page Contrast  

Research Group "Angewandte Physik (AG Atom- & Plasmaphysik), TU Wien"
(Univ.Prof. Mag. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Friedrich Aumayr)

Head of the research group:
Last name:Aumayr
First name(s):Friedrich
Title (leading):Univ.Prof. Mag. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.
Institution:Vienna University of Technology
Organizational unit:Institut für Angewandte Physik
Street address:Wiedner Hauptstr. 8
Postal code:1040
Assignments to Research Areas:
Research area(s):
  • Ion Physics
  • Medical, Environmental and Bio-Physics
  • Nano Science
  • Quantum Optics and Atomic Physics
Assignments to Fields of Work According to the Austrian System of Science Areas:
Field(s) of work:
  • Applied physics (1203)
  • Ion physics (103013)
  • Laser physics (103016)
  • Nanotechnology (210006)
Data Acquisition:
Date of the data acquisition:05.06.2015
Data acquisition period:from: 2011   up to including: 2015
Research Group at the Time of the Data Acquisition:
Scientific group members:
21 Persons
Univ.Prof. Dr. Friedrich Aumayr (Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe)
ao.Univ.Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Husinsky
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ille C. Gebeshuber
Proj.Ass. Dipl.Phys. Dr. Richard Wilhelm
Proj. Ass. Dr. Aliashgar Ajami MSc.
Proj.Ass. Priv.Doz. Dr. David Tskhakaya
Proj.Ass. Dipl.Ing. Elisabeth Gruber BSc.
Proj.Ass. Dipl.Ing. Bernhard Berger BSc.
Proj.Ass. Chandra Sekher Nathala MSc.
Proj.Ass. Dipl.Ing. Florian Laggner, BSc
Proj.Ass. Dipl.Ing. Ing. Reinhard Stadlmayr, BSc
Proj.Ass. Dipl.Ing. Janine Schwestka, BSc
Valerie Smejkal, BSc.
Lorenz Bergen, BSc.
Sebastian Keerl, BSc.
David Melinc, BSc.
Dominic Blöch, BSc.
Georg Harrer, BSc.
Paul Szabo, BSc.
Lukas Leonhartsberger, BSc.
Alexander Fuchs-Fuchs
Full-time equivalents:9
Percentage project-funded:70
Scientific Output in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
H-index of the group head:39
Number of publications:116
Five most important publications:
  1. R.A. Wilhelm, E, Gruber, R. Ritter, R. Heller, S. Facsko, and F. Aumayr "Charge exchange and energy loss of slow highly charged ions in 1 nm thick carbon nanomembranes"
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 112 (2014) 153201 (5 pages)
  2. A.S. El-Said, ... and F. Aumayr "Phase diagram for nanostructuring CaF2 surfaces by slow highly charged ions"
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 109 (2012) 117602 (5 pages)
  3. R. Ritter, ... and F. Aumayr, "Fabrication of nanopores in 1 nm thick carbon nanomembranes with slow highly charged ions"
    Appl. Phys. Lett. 102 (Jan. 2013) 063112 (5 pages)
  4. F. Aumayr, et al., "Topical Review: Single-ion induced surface nanostructures - A comparison between slow highly-charged and swift heavy ions; J. Phys.: Cond. Matter 23 (2011) 393001 (23 pages)
  5. R. A. Wilhelm, ... and F. Aumayr, "Threshold and efficiency for perforation of 1 nm thick carbon nanomembranes with slow highly charged ions"
    2D Materials 2 (2015) 035009 (6 pages)
  • A. S. El-Said: Humboldt Research Fellowship (Alexander v. Humboldt Stiftung) 2011
  • W. Meissl: HFSP fellow (Human Frontier Science Program, Strassbourg, France)
  • I.C. Gebeshuber: Guest Professorship at Institute of Microengineering and Nanoelectronics (IMEN) Universiti Kebangsaan, Malaysia 2009 - 2015
  • I.C. Gebeshuber: FEMtech Expertin im Monat März 2008
Five most important talks:
  1. F. Aumayr: "Interactions of highly charged ions with surfaces" Invited plenary talk, 28th Intern. Conf. on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions (XXVIII ICPEAC), Lanzhou, China, 30.07.2013
  2. F. Aumayr: "Nanoscale surface modifications by individual highly charged ion impact" Invited Review Lecture, 16th Intern. Conf. on the Physics of Highly Charged Ions (HCI-2012), Heidelberg, Germany, 7.9.2012
  3. F. Aumayr: "Fabrication of nanopores in freestanding 1 nm thick carbon nanomembranes with slow highly charged ions" Invited talk, 9th Intern. Symposium on Atomic Level Characterizations for New Materials and Devices (ALC´13), Kona, Big Island, Hawaii, USA, 06.12.2013
  4. F. Aumayr: "Surface modification due to interaction with highly charged ions", Invited tutorial talk, 26. International Conference on Atomic Collisions in Solids (ICACS-26), Debrecen, Hungary, 13.07.2014
  5. F. Aumayr, "What happens at the surface impact site of a slow highly charged ion?", Invited plenary talk, 27. Intern. Symposium on the Physics of Ionized Gases (SPIG-2014), Belgrade, Serbia, 27.8.2014
Projects and Funding Granted in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
University funds:
  • Mittel zur Anschaffung von Infrastruktur
    MINT Program 2012: Mittel: 298 kEuro
Competitive projects:
  • FWF I 1114-N20 :
    "Single ion induced surface nanostructures"
    Laufzeit: 2012 - 2015; Mittel: 140 kEuro
  • EU H2020 - EURATOM
    Participation in the EUROFusion Co-Fund Action (mehrere Partner) "Fusion@ÖAW"
    Laufzeit 2014 - 2019; Mittel. 750 kEuro (Anteil der AG-Aumayr)
    Plasma diagnostics and plasma-wall-interaction
    (7th Framework Program)
    Laufzeit: 2008 - 2013; Mittel: 700 kEuro
  • DOC Programm (ÖAW):
    Laufzeit: 2009 - 2011; Mittel: 75 kEuro
  • ÖAW:
    Laufzeit: 2011 - 2016; Mittel: 160 kEuro
Commissioned projects:
  • Friedrich Schiedel Stiftung für Energietechnik:
    Laufzeit: 2011 - 2012; Mittel: 92 kEuro
  • Friedrich Schiedel Stiftung f. Energietechnik:
    "Inter-ELM pedestal structure at ASDEX Upgrade"
    Laufzeit: 2014 - 2016 Mittel: 99 kEuro
Research Topics:
Current research topics:
  • Physics of highly charged ions
  • Basic ion - surface interaction processes (electron emission, sputtering, nanostructure formation)
  • Atomic collisions
  • Graphene and 2D-Materials
  • AFM/STM studies of ion-induced surface nanostructures
  • Plasma-wall-interaction in fusion plasmas
  • Plasma diagnostics and modelling
  • Atomic data for fusion
  • ECR ion source
  • Femtosecond lasers
  • Popularization of science
Future topics (next 5 years):
  • Interaction of ions, atoms and photons with surfaces and their applications in nanotechnology, Tayloring the properties of 2D-materials liek graphene with ion impact.
  • Fusion plasmas
  • Biophysics and medicine
Teaching and Research Mobility in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
Doctor's theses:
5 doctor's theses
  1. Robert Ritter, TU Wien 2013
  2. Matthias Willensdorfer, TU Wien 2013
  3. Katharina Igenbergs, TU Wien 2011
  4. Gregor Kowarik, TU Wien 2011
  5. Katharina Dobes, TU Wien 2014
Diploma and master theses:
10 theses
  1. Paulus Naderer (2011)
  2. Markus Wallerberger (2011)
  3. Elisabeth Gruber (2012)
  4. Dominik Schrempf (2013)
  5. Alexander Veiter (2013)
  6. Florian Laggner (2013)
  7. Reinhard Stadlmayr (2016)
  8. Janine Schwestka (2016)
  9. Valerie Smejkal (2016)
  10. Lorenz Bergen (2016)
International networking:
  • Ille C. Gebeshuber (outgoing): Guest Professorship at University Kebangsaan, Malaysia 2008 - 2015
  • Walter Meissl (outgoing): HFSP fellowship (Human Frontier Science Program) RIKEN Laboratory, Japan 2009-2011
  • Ayman S El-Said (outgoing): Humboldt fellowship (Alexander v. Humboldt Stiftung) 2009 - 2011
to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2018