Austrian Physical Society
Physics in Austria
Search on the OePG website:
  Set Page Contrast  

Research Group "Halbleiter- und Festkörperphysik, JKU Linz"
(Ao.Univ.Prof. Dr. Julian Stangl)

Head of the research group:
Last name:Stangl
First name(s):Julian
Title (leading):Ao.Univ.Prof. Dr.
Institution:Johannes Kepler University Linz
Organizational unit:Institut für Halbleiter- und Festkörperphysik
Street address:Altenbergerstrasse 69
Postal code:4040
Assignments to Research Areas:
Research area(s):
  • Nano Science
  • Semiconductor Physics
  • Solid State Physics
Assignments to Fields of Work According to the Austrian System of Science Areas:
Field(s) of work:
  • Nanotechnology (210006)
  • Semiconductor physics (103011)
  • Solid state physics (103009)
Data Acquisition:
Date of the data acquisition:19.10.2012
Data acquisition period:from: 2005   up to including: 2012
Research Group at the Time of the Data Acquisition:
Scientific group members:
6 Persons
Tanja Etzelstorfer, Dipl.Ing.
Nina Hrauda, Dr.
Mario Keplinger, Dipl.Ing.
Dominik Kriegner, Dipl.Ing.
Raphael Grifone, Dipl.Phys. (financed by ESRF)
Vinvent Jacques, Dr. (half financed by ESRF)
Percentage project-funded:100
Scientific Output in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
H-index of the group head:23
Number of publications:71
Five most important publications:
  1. C. Mocuta, J. Stangl, K. Mundboth, T.H. Metzger, G. Bauer, I. Vartanyants, M. Schmidbauer, T. Boeck, "Beyond the ensemble average: x-ray diffraction analysis of single SiGe islands", Phys. Rev. B 77, 245425 (2008).
  2. M. Keplinger, T. Mårtensson, J. Stangl, E. Wintersberger,, B. Mandl, D. Kriegner, V. Holý, G. Bauer, K. Deppert, L. Samuelson, "Structural investigations of core-shell nanowires using grazing incidence x-ray diffraction", Nano Letters 9, 1877-1882 (2009).
  3. J. Stangl, C. Mocuta, A. Diaz, T.H. Metzger, G. Bauer, "X-ray diffraction as a local probe tool", ChemPhysChem 10, 2923-2930 (2009).
  4. V. Chamard, J. Stangl, D. Carbone, A. Diaz, G. Chen, C. Alfonso, C. Mocuta, T.H. Metzger, Three-dimensional X-Ray Fourier Transform Holography: the Bragg case, Phys. Rev. Lett. 104, 165501 (2010).
  5. D. Kriegner, C. Panse, B. Mandl, K. A. Dick, M. Keplinger, J. M. Persson, P. Caroff, D. Ercolani, L. Sorba, F. Bechstedt, J. Stangl, G. Bauer, Unit Cell Structure of Crystal Polytypes in InAs and InSb Nanowires, Nano Letters 11, 1483-1489 (2011).
  • 2006: Fritz Kohlrausch Preis der ÖPG
  • 2007: Erich Schmid Preis der ÖAW
Five most important talks:
  1. J. Stangl, B. Mandl, E. Wintersberger, R. T. Lechner, C. Mocuta, W. Seifert, G. Bauer, X-ray
    diffraction from semiconductor nanostructures, invited talk at the 9th International Conference on X-ray
    and Neutron Scattering (SXNS 9), Taipei, Taiwan, 16. -20. 07. 2006
  2. J Stangl, C Mocuta, K Mundboth, A Diaz, T H Metzger, G Bauer, A V Zozulya, O M Yefanov, I Vartanyants, X-ray diffarction from semiconductor nanostructures: beyond the ensemble average, invited talk at IUMRS-ICEM 2008 Sydney, Australia, 31.07.2008.
  3. J. Stangl, X-ray diffraction of single quantum dots with nano beams, invited talk at E-MRS Spring Meeting, Strasbourg, France, 11 June 2009.
  4. J. Stangl, M. Keplinger, D. Kriegner, N. Hrauda, C. Mocuta, A. Diaz, V. Chamard, B. Mandl, D. Carbone, T.H. Metzger, G. Bauer, Investigation of semiconductor nanostructures by x-ray diffraction: beyond the ensemble average, invited talk at The 37th International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors (ISCS Takamatsu Symbol Tower, Kagawa, Japan, 2 June 2010.
  5. J. Stangl, "X-Day Diffraction From Semiconductor Nanostructures", invited talk at the XX Congress of the International Union of Crystallography "IUCR 2005", Florenz/Italien, 29.08.2005
Projects and Funding Granted in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
Competitive projects:
  • FWF P18125-N16:
    Untersuchung von Versetzungen in Halbleiterepischichten
    01.01.2006 - 31.12.2009; Project leader: J. Stangl
  • FWF F2507-N08:
    Next Generation X-ray Techniques (part of the SFB Infrared Optical Nanostructures IRON)
    01.03.2005 - 29.02.2012; Project leader: J. Stangl, G. Bauer
  • EC 012150:
    Disposable Dot Field Effect Transistor for High Speed Si Integrated Circuits (D-DOT FET)
    01.10.2005 - 30.09.2008; Project leaders: G. Bauer, J. Stangl
  • EC 214814:
    Architectures, Materials and One-dimensional Nanowires for Photovoltaics - Research and Applications (AMON-RA)
    01.10.2008 - 30.09.2012; Project leaders: G. Bauer, J. Stangl
  • FWF P23706-N19
    Investigation of nanowires by x-ray diffraction methods
    Project Leader: J. Stangl
Research Topics:
Current research topics:
  • Structural analysis of semiconductor nanostructures using x-ray scattering methods
  • Main topics: SiGe Nanoislands, III-V Nanowires, use of focused x-ray beams
Future topics (next 5 years):
  • Nanocrystals and Nanowires, in-situ/in-vivo experiments
  • Use of coherent scattering and direct reconstruction methods
Teaching and Research Mobility in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
Doctor's theses:
6 doctor's theses
  1. N. Hrauda, X-ray di raction studies of semiconductor nanostructures (2012)
  2. B. Mandl, MOCVD growth of nanowires (2011)
  3. E. Wintersberger, X-ray scattering from dislocations in semiconductor epilayers (2010)
  4. A. Rehman Khan, Characterization of uniaxially strained SiGe heterostructures using x-ray diffraction (2008)
  5. R. K. Mundboth, X-ray micro-diffraction of single SiGe/Si(001) islands: beyond the ensemble average (2008)
  6. J. Novak, Structural investigations of nano-islands using x-ray diffraction techniques (2006)
Diploma and master theses:
5 theses
  1. Tanja Etzelstorfer, Structural Investigations of Nanomaterials for Renewable Energy Applications (2011)
  2. Dominik Kriegner, X-ray diffraction from III-V semiconductor nanowires (2009)
  3. Mario Keplinger, Structural investigation of core-shell nanowires (2008)
  4. T. Suzuki, Quantum dots simulation with finite element method (2007)
  5. E. Wintersberger, Röntgenbeugung und -reflexion an Si/SiGe/GaAs Hetero- und Nanostrukturen (2005)
International networking:
  • Vaclav Holy (incoming), Charles Univerity Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Domink Kriegner (outgoing), Center for Nanoscopy, TU Denmark, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Stanislav Danis (incoming), Charles University Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Mojmir Meduna (incoming), Masaryk University Brno, Brno, Czech Republic
to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2018