Austrian Physical Society
Physics in Austria
Search on the OePG website:
  Set Page Contrast  

Research Group "Halbleiter- und Festkörperphysik, JKU Linz"
(Professor Günther Bauer)

Head of the research group:
Last name:Bauer
First name(s):Günther
Title (leading):Professor
Institution:Johannes Kepler University Linz
Organizational unit:Institut für Halbleiter- und Festkörperphysik, Abteilung Halbleiterphysik
Street address:Altenbergerstrasse 69
Postal code:4040
Assignments to Research Areas:
Research area(s):
  • Semiconductor Physics
  • Solid State Physics
Assignments to Fields of Work According to the Austrian System of Science Areas:
Field(s) of work:
  • Nanotechnology (210006)
  • Semiconductor physics (103011)
  • Solid state physics (103009)
  • Spectroscopy (also: molecule -) (1248)
Data Acquisition:
Date of the data acquisition:31.05.2011
Data acquisition period:from: 2005   up to including: 2009
Research Group at the Time of the Data Acquisition:
Scientific group members:
11 Persons
DI Dr. Thomas Fromherz
M.Sc. Jianjun Zhang
DI Moritz Brehm
DI Martyna Grydlik
DI Elisabeth Lausecker
DI Dr. Gebhard Matt
DI Dr. Patrick Rauter
Mateuz Bednorz, M.Sc.
Florian Hackl
Lukas Nausner
Markus Steindl
Scientific Output in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
H-index of the group head:40
Number of publications:40
Five most important publications:
  1. G. Matt et al.; Adv. Mater. 22, 647-650 (2010).
  2. M. Brehm; Phys. Rev. B 80, 205321 / 1-9 (2009).
  3. T. U. Schülli et al.; Phys. Rev. Lett. 102, 025502/1-4 (2009)
  4. P. Rauter et al.; Phys.Rev.Lett. 102, 147401/1-4 (2009).
  5. Z. Zhong et al.; Phys. Rev. Lett. 98, 176102-1/4 (2007).
  • Elisabeth Lausecker, "Best Paper Award für Nanoelectronics" des Österreichischen Verbandes für Elektrotechnik, 8 April 2010.
  • Moritz Brehm, Martyna Grydlik, "Best Poster Award" at the 8th International Workshop on Epitaxial Semiconductors on Patterned Substrates and Novel Index Surfaces (EPS-NIS), Como, Italy, 14.-18. Juni 2010.
  • Martyna Grydlik: Young Scientist Award of the European Materials Research Society, EMRS Spring Meeting, 10 June 2009.
  • Patrick Rauter: AT & S Preis der Österreichischen Physikalischen Gesellschaft, gestiftet von der Firma Austria Technologie & Systemtechnik, 04. Sept. 2009.
  • Patrick Rauter, "IUPAP Young Author Best Paper Award" (Iinternational Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors 2008, July 27 - August 1, 2008, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil).
  • Elisabeth Lausecker, "Austrian Nano Award" (2008)
  • PRIZE des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Arbeit für Thomas Fromherz und Gebhard Matt für ihren neuartigen Si-basierenden Infrarotdetektor (2007)
Five most important talks:
  1. G.Bauer, Structural investigations of self-assembled SiGe/Si islands, 4thInternational Conference on Quantum Dots, May 1-5, 2006, Chamonix-Mont Blanc,France (invited talk).
  2. T. Fromherz, G. Matt, M. Bednorz , S.Zamiri , G. Goncalves , C. Lungenschmid, D. Meissner, N. S. Sariciftci, Fullerene sensitized silicon for near to mid infrared light detection, 29th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 27 July - 1 Aug. 2008 (invited talk).
  3. G. Bauer, Structural characterization of quantum dots and wires by x-ray diffraction techniques, 2009 International Nano-Optoelectronics Workshop (iNOW), Stockholm, Sweden, August 2-8, 2009 (invited talk).
  4. T. Fromherz, Three dimensional SiGe quantumdot crystals, DPG Frühjahrstagung, Dresden, Germany (invited, March 22-27, 2009.
  5. E. Lausecker, M. Brehm, M. Grydlik, I. Bergmair, M. Mühlberger, R. Schöftner, T. Fromherz, F. Schäffler, G. Bauer, UV nanoimprint lithography for Si pit-patterning and pre-defined SiGe island growth, 30th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS30), Seoul, South Korea, 25th -30th July 2010 (invited talk).
Projects and Funding Granted in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
Competitive projects:
  • FWF P14684-N08:
    Kontrollierte Positionierung selbstorganisierter SiGe-Inseln
    01.03.2001 - 28.02.2005; Project leader: G. Bauer
  • FFG 818046/16555:
    Silicon Heterostructure Intersubband Emitters (SHINE)
    01.01.2003 - 31.12.2005; Project leader: G. Bauer
  • EC NMP4-CT-2004-500101:
    Self-Assembled Semiconductor Nanostructures for New Devices in Photonics and Electronics (SANDIE)
    01.07.2004 - 30.06.2008; Project leader: G. Bauer
  • EC 012150:
    Disposable Dot Field Effect Transistor for High Speed Si Integrated Circuits (D-DOT FET)
    01.10.2005 - 30.09.2008; Project leaders: G. Bauer, J. Stangl
  • FWF F2512-N08:
    IR Emission and Detection by Group IV Nanostructures (part of SFB025 Infrared Optical Nanostructures: IRON)
    01.03.2005 - 29.02.2012; Project leader: T. Fromherz
  • FFG 815802/1301-BI
    NILquantumdot - High density, large area, ordered nanostructures on templates defined by nano imprint lithography for optoelectronic applications
    01.04.2008 - 31.03.2011; Project leader: T. Fromherz
  • FFG 815829/1352-BII:
    01.04.2008 - 31.03.2011; Project leader: T. Fromherz
  • FFG 818046/16555
    B1: Lichtabsorption und Photovoltaik organisch-anorganischer Halbleitergrenzflächen (LIPOAH)
    01.08.2008 - 31.07.2011; Project leader: T. Fromherz
Research Topics:
Current research topics:
  • Halbleiterhetero-und Nanostrukturen: Wachstum
  • Halbleiterhetero-und Nanostrukturen: strukturelle Charakterisierung
  • Halbleiterhetero-und Nanostrukturen: optische Charakterisierung
  • Infrarotdevices
  • Organisch-Inorganische Halbleiter-Heterostrukturen
Future topics (next 5 years):
  • Einzelquantenpunktspektroskopie
  • Einzelphotonenemitter im Infraroten
Teaching and Research Mobility in the Above Data Acquisition Period:
Doctor's theses:
3 doctor's theses
  1. Jianjun Zhang, Growth and characterization of ordered SiGe islands on patterned Si(001) substrates (2010)
  2. Patrick Rauter, Temporally and spectrally resolved studies of mid-infrared to terahertz transitions in silicon-based optoelectronic devices (2010)
  3. Rainer Lechner, Herstellung und Charakterisierung von EuSe-Nanostrukturen (2005)
Diploma and master theses:
5 theses
  1. E. Lausecker, Large-area high resolution microcontact printing (2007)
  2. M. Brehm, Photoluminescence investigation of SiGe and InAs1-xPx nanostructures (2006)
  3. M. Grydlik, Low temperature process for integrating Si based infrared photodetectors into optical resonators (2006)
  4. B. Mandl, Au-free growth of nanowires and their characterization (2006)
  5. M. Simma, Photoleitungsuntersuchungen an Quantenpunkten (2005)
International networking:
  • S. Wagner, Princeton Univ. (1 Monat)/Incoming
  • E. Lausecker, Princeton Univ. (9 Monate)/outgoing
to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2018