Austrian Physical Society
News and Announcements
Search on the OePG website:
  Set Page Contrast  

News and Announcements

Change of the Statutes of the OePG

The statutes of the OePG that have been changed at the General Assembly on September 28, 2016, have been approved by the appropriate public authorities on November 8, 2016. The current statutes are available on this website.

Statutes of the Austrian Physical Society 2016

Statutes of the Austrian Physical Society 2011

Display only this item

Winners of the OePG Awards 2016

On September 27, 2016, the following awards have been granted at the 66th Annual Meeting of the OePG 2016 in Vienna:

  • Fritz Kohlrausch Award: Rinaldo Trotta (JKU Linz) for the conception and development of a novel class of semiconductor-piezoelectric devices which allows arbitrary quantum dots to be used as sources of entangled photons for quantum networking
    Thomas Monz (Univ. Innsbruck) for the realization of Shor’s algorithm according to Kitaev in a quantum computer with trapped ions
  • Roman Ulrich Sexl Award: Lothar Bodingbauer for his science-to-public activities in radio broadcasts „Physiksoiree“, „Vom Leben der Natur“ and „Radiokolleg
    Peter Schmid for his valuable inputs in further education and in the training of physics teachers
  • Victor Franz Hess Award (section "Nuclear and particle physics"):
    Max Riegler for his thesis “How general is holography?“
  • Anton Paar Science Award for Physics (section "Solid state physics"; award sponsered by Santner Privatstiftung):  Andreas Pospischil for his work on generation and detection of light in two-dimensional material
  • Max Auwaerter Award: Barbara A. J. Lechner for her work “Studying complex surface dynamical systems using He-3 spin echo spectroscopy”
  • Students' Award: Philipp Stanzer (TU Wien) for his thesis “Holographic entanglement entropy in heavy ion collisions”
    Christoph Tietz (Univ. Wien) for his thesis “Investigation of the structure of lithium borate ionic glasses”

EPL Poster Awards (granted on September 29, 2016):

  • Karin Hain (Univ. Wien), "Detection of Pu in Pacific Ocean water by AMS with respect to the Fukushima accident"
  • Anna Weitzer (Univ. Graz), "Investigation of transitions conditioned by temperature and composition change in a 4 component lipid-only system"
  • Jakob Alexander Genser (Montanuniversität Leoben), "Epitaxy of Highly Ordered Conjugated Organic Semiconductors Supported by Hexagonal Boron Nitride"

Fotos © Dipl.-Ing. Robert Alexander Herbst, POINT OF VIEW; poster awards: Computational Physics Group, Uni Wien

Display only this item

Awards for Special Achievements of Students at Higher Schools

On September 27, 2016, the following students at Austrian higher schools have received awards at the 66th Annual Meeting of the OePG 2016 in Vienna:

Excellent theses in the area of physics:

  • 3rd place: Stefan Unterweger (Bischöfliches Gymnasium Graz): "Innovation in Elektronik und Beleuchtungstechnik" (Teacher: Mag. Dieter Winkler)
  • 2nd place: Nicolas Griebenow (Stiftsgymnasium Kremsmünster): "Abstandsmessung mittels Lasertriangulation" (Teacher: Prof. Gerhard Bergmair)
  • 1st place: Rebecca A. Frank (AHS 22 Theodor Kramer Straße): "Mechanische Eigenschaften und physikalische Prozesse von künstlichen Muskelfasern" (Teacher: Mag. Juanina Oppel-Equiluz)

Austrian Team at the 47th International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) in Zurich

Honourable Mention:

  • Alexander Theis (BG/BRG St. Johann)

Bronze medal:

  • Jonas Bodingbauer (HTL-Leonding)
  • Katharina Buczolich (HTL-Eisenstadt)
  • Florian Rudinger (Europagymnasium Linz)


  • Michael Pfeifer (BRG Klagenfurt)

Austrian Team at the Young Physicists' Tournament 2016 in Yekaterinburg, Russland:

Bronze Medal:

  • Rebecca Frank (AHS Theodor Kramerstr., Wien)
  • Johanna Hofer (BG/BRG Freistadt)
  • Markus Niese (Akademisches Gymnasium, Salzburg)
  • Luisa Schrempf (AHS Theodor Kramerstr., Wien)
  • Alexey Zagorulko (Schottengymnasium der Benediktiner, Wien)

Fotos © Dipl.-Ing. Robert Alexander Herbst, POINT OF VIEW

Display only this item

Operation of the OePG Website in a Secure Data Transfer Mode (Secure HTTP - HTTPS)

For technical and organizational reasons at our web provider, we currently cannot offer the OePG website in Secure HTTP mode ( for all browsers and operating systems. When invoked in Standard HTTP mode (, the OePG website changes automatically to Secure HTTP if this is possible and safe. Please do not try to change manually to HTTPS if the website remains in Standard HTTP mode: You will most likely trigger a security warning of your browser if you do so. (In principle, no harm can be done in this case even if you ignore this security warning and continue in HTTPS mode. Nevertheless, you never should ignore security warnings unless you are sure to know what you are doing.)

The reason for this irregularity is that the OePG website offers its security certificate in a mode not compatible with all browsers and operating systems (Server Name Indication - SNI; see Incompatible browsers invoke the security certificate of the host server on which the OePG website runs, instead of the OePG website's, which results in a severe certificate mismatch.

The following browsers guarantee a proper operation of the OePG website under Secure HTTP:

  • Mozilla Firefox version 2.0 and higher (ca. 2007) and related browsers (Netscape Navigator, SeaMonkey, etc.);
  • Internet Explorer 7 or higher under Windows Vista or newer (not under Windows XP!);
  • Opera version 9.2 or higher;
  • Safari under Mac OS X version 10.6 or higher and under Windows Vista or newer (not under Windows XP!);
  • Google Chrome (all versions under Windows Vista or newer, version 6 or higher under Windows XP).

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this problem and endeavour to solve this problem soon.

Display only this item
to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2017