Austrian Physical Society
News and Announcements
Search on the OePG website:
  Set Page Contrast  

News and Announcements

Winners of the OePG Awards 2017

On September 1, 2015, the following awards of the Austrian Physical Society have been granted at the joint Annual Meeting of the OePG and the SPS 2015 in Linz:

  • Ludwig Boltzmann-Award (OePG): Mikhail Lemeshko (IST Klosterneuburg)
    for his discovery of a new quasiparticle, the "angulon", which explains the rotation of molecules in quantum solvents.
  • Victor Franz Hess Award (Nuclear and particle physics section): Christian Kohlfürst (University of Jena)
    Topic: "Electron-positron pair production in inhomogeneous electromagnetic fields"
  • Anton Paar Science Award for Physics (OePG; section "Solid state physics"; award sponsered by Santner Privatstiftung): Tobias Huber (University of Innsbruck)
    Thema: "Quantum dots as photon sources"

More prices of the OePG - the Roman Ulrich Sexl-Award, the Students' Award and the awards for special achievements of students at Higher Schools - have been awarded at the "LehrerInnentag" on Thursday, September 28, 2017, in Vienna.

EPL Best Poster Awards (granted on August 25th, 2017):

  • Christoph Murer (ETH Zurich) et al.: "Magneto-optical detection of the spin Hall effect in Pt and W thin films"
  • Martin Bawart (Medical University Innsbruck) et al.: "Multi-colour operation of tunable diffractive lenses"
  • Abhishek Sharma (CERN; Oxford University): "E-TCT studies and thermal characterisations towards the ITK phase-II upgrade"

The following prices have been awarded at the "LehrerInnentag 2017" (Teachers' Day) of the Austrian Physical Society in Vienna on September 28, 2017:

  • Roman Ulrich Sexl Award: Mag. Günther Vormayr for his remarkable and sustainable initiatives for boosting the teaching of natural sciences, in particular, physics
    Mag. Josef Gröchenig for his achivements in teacher training, for leading the "ARGE Physik" Carinthia, and for the training of students by visits to European research sites and their student labs
  • Students' Award: DI Lukas Semmelrock for his thesis "Dissipative Losses in Self-Interacting Dark Matter Collisions"
    DI Raphaela Wutte  for her thesis "Near Horizon Boundary Conditions for Spin-3 Gravity in Flat Space"
Display only this item

Awards for Special Achievements of Students at Higher Schools

On September 28, 2017, the following students at Austrian higher schools have received awards at the "LehrerInnentag" of the OePG in Vienna:

Excellent theses in the area of physics:

  • 3rd Place: Julian Pichler (BG/BRG Wieselburg): "Fallbewegungen: „Freier Fall“ und Fall mit Luftwiderstand" (Teacher: OStR Prof. Mag. Wolfgang Klingenböck)
  • 2nd Place: Kevin Kutlesa (BG/BRG Leoben): "Methoden der Werkstoffprüfung - Zerstörungsfreie und nicht-zerstörungsfreie Werkstoffprüfung" (Teacher: Dipl.-Ing. Mag. Dr. Gerhard Haas)
  • 1. Preis:Iris Borns (Konrad Lorenz BG/BRG Gänserndorf): "Experimentelle Beschreibung der physikalischen Grundprinzipien zum Schutz vor ionisierender Strahlung" (Teacher: Mag. Katharina Sator)

Austrian Team at the 48th International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) in Yogyakarta, Indonesia

Honourable Mention:

  • Erwin Pfeiler (BRG Graz)
  • Konstantin Mark (BG Feldkirch)

Bronze medal:

  • Jonas Bodingbauer (HTL Leonding)
  • Katharina Bogner  (BRG Rohrbach)
  • Katharina Buczolich (HTL Eisenstadt)

Austrian Team at the Young Physicists' Tournament 2017 in Singapore:

  • Amir Dellali (BRG Salzburg)
  • Jakob Fiechter (Akademisches Gymnasium Innsbruck)
  • Jonathan Hell (Akademisches Gymnasium Salzburg)
  • Philipp Reindl (HTL Leoben)
  • Valentin Wiesinger (Akademisches Gymnasium, Salzburg)
Display only this item

Change of the Statutes of the OePG

The statutes of the OePG that have been changed at the General Assembly on August 22, 2017, have been approved by the appropriate public authorities on September 15, 2017. The current statutes are available on this website.

Statutes of the Austrian Physical Society 2017

Statutes of the Austrian Physical Society 2016

Statutes of the Austrian Physical Society 2011

Display only this item

Operation of the OePG Website in a Secure Data Transfer Mode (Secure HTTP - HTTPS)

For technical and organizational reasons at our web provider, we currently cannot offer the OePG website in Secure HTTP mode ( for all browsers and operating systems. When invoked in Standard HTTP mode (, the OePG website changes automatically to Secure HTTP if this is possible and safe. Please do not try to change manually to HTTPS if the website remains in Standard HTTP mode: You will most likely trigger a security warning of your browser if you do so. (In principle, no harm can be done in this case even if you ignore this security warning and continue in HTTPS mode. Nevertheless, you never should ignore security warnings unless you are sure to know what you are doing.)

The reason for this irregularity is that the OePG website offers its security certificate in a mode not compatible with all browsers and operating systems (Server Name Indication - SNI; see Incompatible browsers invoke the security certificate of the host server on which the OePG website runs, instead of the OePG website's, which results in a severe certificate mismatch.

The following browsers guarantee a proper operation of the OePG website under Secure HTTP:

  • Mozilla Firefox version 2.0 and higher (ca. 2007) and related browsers (Netscape Navigator, SeaMonkey, etc.);
  • Internet Explorer 7 or higher under Windows Vista or newer (not under Windows XP!);
  • Opera version 9.2 or higher;
  • Safari under Mac OS X version 10.6 or higher and under Windows Vista or newer (not under Windows XP!);
  • Google Chrome (all versions under Windows Vista or newer, version 6 or higher under Windows XP).

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this problem and endeavour to solve this problem soon.

Display only this item
to the top of the page
© Austrian Physical Society (ZVR: 459787108) 1997 - 2018